And the breakthrough!

Well I can say with incredible enthusiasm that after three years of my struggle, I am now medication free!!

I came to the realization the other day that I’m no longer taking any of my natural medication for my adrenal fatigue or my stomach. After my acid test in the summer, I finally got to a point where my stomach was no longer bothering me. I have been pill free ever since!

That’s what I love about a natural approach to medical problems – not only are the medications all natural, but they aren’t meant to be taken for the rest of your life. As my naturopath put it, they are almost designed to train your body to operate the way it is meant to. (For those of you interested in naturopathy, check out my naturopath’s website here; I see Dr. Danielle)

Now unfortunately I can’t go back to the way I was living before. Having health struggles requires somewhat of a lifestyle change. I can no longer drink coffee, which is horrifying I know, but it’s a small price to pay. I’ve switched to decaf which is nowhere near as satisfying but it’s helping me with the caffeine withdrawal. I tried the natural coffee – the stuff that is caffeine free – and let me tell you, it is horrible! I only tried the one flavour, so I’ll keep trying different ones and keep you posted but so far I’m not impressed.

However, I have recently made a discovery that I can’t wait to share! For my birthday this year I received the best present I could have ever hoped for – my Dad bought me classes for Transcendental Meditation. For those of you who have not hear of it, I urge you to check out their website! In the simplest terms, it is a meditation technique founded by Maharishi Mahesh Yogi who was dedicated to promoting peace and truly believed it could be accomplished through this meditation technique. The technique it extremely effective and endorsed by countless people, including celebrities. This isn’t a sales pitch because I know it isn’t for everyone, but it has been scientifically proven to reduce stress, illness, and signs of aging. Clearly my Dad had a message for me.

My whole family has known the incredible struggle I have with stress and they always try to suggest new ways to overcome it. However, my Dad has been talking to me about TM since all of my health struggles started and couldn’t stop raving about how much it’s helped him since he started years ago. While it is very expensive, I could never afford it on my own so it was his gift to me this year.

I attended an introductory talk last week and learned so much about the technique including it’s benefits, what it does, and how it differs from other meditation. Based on that and the numerous people I’ve spoken to who participate, I’m very excited to start! It only takes four days to learn, and there is a two hour session every day. After that, I will be a TM expert!

I will keep an update on how things are going and report back based on how effective it is. I’m going in optimistic but I do have an incredibly over active mind that I can never seem to turn off so I’m worried I won’t be very good at meditating. However, my teacher assured me this technique will help me learn how to turn off my mind and have 40 minutes a day where I can have complete solitude. Oh man, how badly I need that!

Now my biggest struggle will come with trying to find the time to meditate for 2o minutes twice a day…

